What My Long Distance Relationship Feels Like.

0W5A8482

And whoever thought I would be doing so well? Well everyone did except myself.

When Rami broke the amazing news to me about his acceptance to DC, my heart melted. I couldn’t imagine going through one single day without him in Doha. No way. You will never know how hard it is to be alone in Doha until you move here. Everyone living here knows exactly what I mean.

It’s been a month since I last saw his face. So, how is it going you might ask? Honestly, I never thought or even imagined I would take it so damn well.

So what happened? I guess it was the way I approached it. Rami was going off to pursue something he’s been wanting to do for a while . His passion. And how can someone like myself, a girl who is all about following dreams and taking risks, not encourage her own fiancé to do that? I wanted him to do it, and I wanted him to be happy. And he made the right decision.

How am I doing? Pretty good so far. I’m making sure to make the most out of every day. Work has been very busy, so that’s always good. I’m spending quality time with friends that I was never able to see before. The friends that I’ve made here have become my family. I’m truly blessed for this.

I’m also back to my hardcore workout and health addiction. Well I never left it in the first place, but it has become a part of my life. I work out 5 times a week and eat super clean. I have found a way to incorporate the way I work out into how I live my life.  It. Just. Works.  I don’t have to plan for hours on end or try to fit it in.  I have simply made fitness a priority and not drudgery or a duty or an appointment that I have to keep.  My relationship with fitness no longer defines how I want to look or something that I may or may not continue.  Fitness for me is insurance.  Insurance that I’ll get through my day, live longer, and someday lift my children high above my head rather than sit quietly while I hold them in my lap. It makes me happy, and I gotta thank my sista for the daily inspiration. Love you my CrossFit Champion!!

I’m also back to reading novels, back to cooking, and actually have time to slip through a movie or 2 a week.

A lot of my girlfriends ask me “How are you guys taking this? Do you guys fight? How are you coping being so far away? Well I just say one thing. Always follow your heart, and because no matter how seemingly impossible the circumstance, sometimes you just have to, well, let love happen.

Rami is the best thing that has ever happened to me. I knew he was the one I wanted to spend the rest of my life with from our first date. We have the strongest bond, its crazy. We provide so much reassurance to each other, which makes everything feels so right.

Often, conducting a long-term relationship relies on your ability to think positively and make the best from a less than ideal situation. And that’s how I decided to take it.

You deserve a life. Your significant other does too. You both deserve friends and work happy hours and wild nights out and spontaneous daytime excursions and fun and laughter and more. People tend to do funny things when they’re lonely – they get jealous of experiences that don’t involve them, and resentful of memories that don’t include them. Don’t be that person. Go out and make your own memories.

Being in love makes being in a long-distance relationship easy. If your love is effortless, if it branches and grows like ivy across a brownstone, reaching and settling into every nook and crevice, being in a long-distance relationship will be a breeze.

So be honest with yourself and your significant other. Be in love. And if you’re not in love, then end it. This is how you survive a long-distance relationship.

Thanks to my good friend Rola Hajjar for inspiring me to write this post. See you soon:)

3 thoughts on “What My Long Distance Relationship Feels Like.

  1. Glad to hear of another couple in a happy long-distance relationship. It can be tough at times but I feel so lucky to have my man that I can’t be sad. And even though we’re so far away from each-other we put in so much effort in to stay close and to include each-other in our daily lives and we are head over heels for one another. No point in not enjoying every stage in your life; you only get one. Seems like you two have the right idea! Warmest wishes to you both!

    • So sweet of you!! It’s a bit hard in the beginning but then I guess it’s all up to the person to make it work. It’s all up to your outlook in life and how hou approach the relationship. You seem like your doing well yourself:))

  2. I can relate to you in so many ways. Being in Doha without your other half does suck, but I’m glad you’re taking it well. When my boyfriend left the first two weeks were so hard for me, but then we knew how to make it work. I just can’t wait until next summer for him to move back!

Leave a Reply

