Today, I found my muse.

Today I woke up feeling good. I smiled, knowing that I gave my body everything she asked for yesterday.

Yesterday was fun. It was my Friday, my day off, and in today’s hard-working world, a thing to be savored. For some of us, that means a recuperating and revitalizing opportunity — a day without any goals beyond recharging batteries.

How did I spend my day? On the couch. 6 hours straight. Doesn’t sound like me, does it? If you know me well enough, you would know that the word “ lazy” does not fall in my dictionary. I know my family knows that darn well. Rami does too. He’s been suffering with my 24hour hyper maniac life for 3 years now. But he loves it.

I have issues. I’m serious. I always feel like I’m in a hurry to do something. I feel like I must be checking something off the list, emailing someone, or rushing off to the next destination. And no matter how many ways and duties I try and multi-task, there’s never enough time in a day to ever catch up.

I always ask my good friends for some good tips of how to just let go, and within few seconds, they would say, you need to unplug or take a vacation, but applying that is difficult for me–I don’t want to figure out the right way to take a break, I want to figure out how to appreciate the present moment.

My thoughts and actions are constantly controlled by email alerts, ring tones, and full blown agendas. And although every part of me wants be on time to every activity on my overcommitted schedule, I wasn’t.

But why do we feel this way? I have a notebook filled with inspiring quotes, and I had this jotted down: “The sole cause of man’s unhappiness is that he does not know how to stay quietly in his room.” In other words, not being able to go anywhere cuts away the need to think about new stimuli–and finally allows us to focus.

Making my oatmeal, having my daily cup of American coffee, writing my blog, exercising, watching the Jimmy Fallon show, checking my Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram feeds, reading a book, and getting some exercise all felt like optimal experiences when not in completion for mental bandwidth slated for the company.

But yesterday- I wanted to be different. I really wanted to think about completely and absolutely nothing.

I did it, and it felt amazing. I started my day on the couch, and ended up reliving my hip hop classes with over an hour of hardcore booty shaking moves on the dance floor with an awesome bunch of ladies.

photo-2

photo-3

 

I woke up today feeling on top of the world.

Live the present moment and relax. Life is simple, and us humans are just complex. If you’re staring at your device all day, you’re not going to step into chance or notice the beauty around you. Notice your breath — the inhale and the exhale — to come back to this moment and allow the future to unfold.  Today, I have to decided to continue the booty shaking sessions, but in my living room.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

