Getting ready for a wedge of heaven

vegancarrotcakebakedoatmeal-6268

As many of my friends and family will attest, I have a crazy obsession with oatmeal, hence the title of my blog.

I visited Dina’s house on Friday(mother of a very good friend) and she offered me one of her famous walnut cakes. After a couple of bites of these little bits of heaven, I realized how utterly passionate I am with walnut cakes too! I felt like I was giving my body a warm hug and helping it on its way. Do you guys feel the same way?

In my mind walnut cakes are associated with home. Not sure why, but maybe it’s the fact I used to see them in every boutique café in Hamra. I also associate them with my father. He loves walnuts.

I woke up yesterday morning craving something sweet. Not my usual wake up habit though. I usually wake up craving for oatmeal. Duh. But I wanted to try something new. I wanted to combine three of my favorite ingredients together. Oatmeal, walnuts and cinnamon. I also thought of adding carrots. Sounds like a good mix. I surfed a couple of gluten free recipes online, and initially ecstatic to find a good number, many of them unfortunately gave results far from equalling my initial expectation. After going through around 25 recipes, almost discouraged, I caught a glimpse of this random recipe online. It looked insanely good, so I added it to the “must try recipes” for next weekend, knowing that I wasn’t going to find the time to cook it yesterday.

So let’s get back to the recipe that was inspired from one of the greatest food posts Oh She Glows. I am pressing you to try this recipe. Even though I haven’t tried it yet- it just looks like heaven! My mouth is melting right now.

Here it goes.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups rolled oats, certified gluten-free if necessary
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • 1 1/2 cups lightly packed shredded carrots
  • 2 1/2 cups of skimmed milk- she used almond milk but I dislike it.
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup( I wouldn’t add that, too much sugar)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons freshly grated ginger (or try ½ tsp ground ginger)
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnut halves.

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375F and lightly grease a 10-cup/2.5 qt. casserole dish. I used an 8″ x 11″ rectangular casserole dish.
  • In a large bowl, mix together the rolled oats, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients: shredded carrot, milk, and fresh ginger.
  • Add the wet mixture to dry mixture and stir until combined.
  • Pour mixture into prepared dish and smooth out with a spoon. Press down on the oatmeal with a spoon (or your hands) so the oats sink into the milk. Sprinkle on the walnuts and raisins and press down lightly again.
  • Bake, uncovered, for 32-37 minutes (I baked for 35 mins.) until lightly golden along edge. The oatmeal will still look a bit soft or wet in some spots when it comes out of the oven, but it will firm up as it cools.
  • Let cool for about 10 minutes before serving. Garnish with some non-dairy yogurt if you want. When the baked oatmeal is fully cool, it will firm up enough to be sliced into squares.

Actually- I’m getting pretty hungry right now. I think I might hit the kitchen  and fire these cakes. Let’s do this!

I will share pictures with you in my next post- only if I succeed in my baking mission.

Leave a Reply

