My Weight Loss Philosophy

I believe that the number one rule for people who are trying to lose weight is to find a lifestyle that they can maintain for the rest of their life.  It’s hard I can tell you that. It takes alot of patience and energy, but trust me it feels amazing to see it happen. You have to love what you do or else you will not do it well. I achieved what I was looking for. I lost the weight I wanted to lose, and I’m satisfied with my figure. In today’s post, I will break down my personal weight-loss philosophy with these rules/tips that really helped me get to where I am today.

  1. Start with a good breakfast: I recommend either starting your day with a wor09dfae44de22c46f8098aad796d44245kout or a healthy breakfast within an hour of waking up.  I started my day with a bowl of oatmeal. Oatmeal, raisins, almonds and cinnamon.  YUM. I had oatmeal every single day for 30 days. It got me full, its incredibly delicious, it cured my bloating stomach, and hell ya it inspired me to start my own blog!
  2. Love your workout: Dreading your workout won’t help you shed pounds, so take the time to find a way to exercise that is fun for you. If you’re fighting it the whole time, your body is smart — it’ll lock on to everything. Don’t work against your natural tendencies- work with them! If you are a walker, don’t try to force yourself into becoming a marathon runner. If you are a social butterfly, take a new fitness class with a friend, or if you prefer solo exercise, like I do, just hit the gym and personalize your own work out.
  3. Think 80/20: You can’t be 100 percent all of the time, but you can be 80 percent all of the time.  I highly recommend small, frequent meals throughout the day, and aim to  make healthy choices 80 percent of the time. The small frequent meals changed my attitude towards food and towards my body. It was probably my #1 trick to losing weight.
  4. Listen to your body: Pushing yourself too much will only lead to burn out, so make sure you keep up a workout routine that’s sustainable, not exhausting. If you’re trying to work out twice a day to lose weight, it’s just not effective. DO NOT DO IT. Your body will burn out and you’ll probably have injury, and then you can’t work out for a week. And then you feel awful. It’s a vicious cycle.
  5. Have a positive attitude: If you go into everything or anything you do with a positive attitude, then you can’t help but have a good day. I smile alot, wherever I go to whoever I see. This is how I get through my day, every day.
  6. Recognize how far you’ve come. I keep myself motivated by setting new goals when I’ve achieved one. I always feel like I can add on a few more minutes of exercise, push myself just a little harder, do a few more crunches, pick up heavier dumbbells, eat a little healthier.
  7. Get a theme song. This is my favorite. I think I played Justin Timberlake’s  Mirrors over 100 times.  I know it sounds corny, but playing it (even singing and dancing along to it) can really boost your spirits when you are feeling uninspired and help you check back in with your motivation.
  8. Believe in yourself.  Trust me on this. Do not listen to anyone that pulls you down. If someone is trying to pull you down, that only means you are on top of them. Try to stay away from all the negative people around you. Find people, places and things that will have a more positive influence on your lifestyle, and will help facilitate your goals.

Follow these tips and hopefully you will get there with time. Nothing is impossible!

Leave a Reply

